Book Reviews

Review – Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything-everythingEverything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Page Count: 310

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publication Date: September 1st, 2015

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 hearts

35

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
 
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
 
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

 

My Thoughts and Review:

First impressions have a huge impact on me and a glance at the cover and the intriguing synopsis was all it took to have me hooked. After doing some research online, I ended up finding a number of reviews saying great things about it so I decided to purchase the novel.  I had so many expectations for Everything, Everything and to be one hundred percent honest, I wasn’t very satisfied with what I got. After the last page I was left with unanswered questions, as well as the feeling of wanting more closure, but I will go more into that later.

This book is basically about a diverse Afrian-Asian girl named Madeline Whittier, aka Maddy, who is apparently allergic to the world. She can’t step foot outside her sterilized home due to a disease called SCID, aka “bubble baby disease,” so she is pretty much stuck inside all day every day. She’s perfectly okay having this isolated lifestyle though. Maddy has her caring nurse Carla, who is more like a friend, and her loving mother. However, when a new family moves in next door everything changes. Why? Because there is this guy named Olly, also known as Oliver, that she can’t help but have feelings for.

At first she would just stalk Olly from her bedroom window, but their connection develops from there when the two start messaging each other. One thing leads to another and next thing you know we’ve got the Molly ship sailing (Molly is their ship name according to me).

Not only did Maddy have a relationship with Olly, she also had a strong bond with her mom.  The mother-daughter connection had a major impact in this novel. At first I thought it was sweet, but towards the middle and end I just found that their link was irritating and that was mainly due to the mom’s actions. She would more than often get in the way of Olly and Maddy’s relationship and that really irked me, but then the plot twist at the end was what really confirmed my dislike for her mom. Although I would love to rant about how much I hate Maddy’s mother, it would spoil the book for you so I’ll keep myself in check.

On the bright side, I did enjoy this book overall. It was quite unique in various ways. Somethings that really stuck out were the charts and illustrations on the pages, along with the emails/texts between Olly and Maddy. I thought those were very nice additions to the story, and it made my heart warm when I realized that the author’s husband created all the artwork for this novel. I also liked Madeline’s character development, as well as the very last few pages on the book. The ending was so adorable and it made me smile like a weirdo.

Speaking of adorable, the love interest, Olly, was nothing but lovable. He was so much more than I expected and his personality is everything. He was sweet and patient, along with humorous. On top of that he has Atlantic blue eyes and dimples! DIMPLES! In all seriousness though, Olly wasn’t flawless and that’s what made him seem more realistic. His household held some imperfections and it gave the readers a better understanding of Olly as a character.

I also appreciated the diversity in this book! Like mentioned before, the main character comes from different backgrounds, but not only that, one of the side characters, Zach, was also apart of the LGBTQ community! Although Zach wasn’t mentioned very often, I still think his short appearance played an important factor in this novel.

Everything, Everything was a very quick read so I think it would be nice to take it to the beach or the pool. I enjoyed Nicola Yoon’s writing style because it is quite different from other authors. I thought this was a cute book and although it didn’t live up to my expectations, I would still recommend this to YA contemporary readers.

There are a handful of charming quotes in here and below are a few of my favorites:

“Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”

“Q: Will I encounter turbulence? A: Yes. Into all lives a little turbulence must fall.”

” ‘In my head I’ve been in love before, but it doesn’t feel like it. Being in love with you is better than the first time. It feels like the first time and the last time and the only time all at once.’ “

Have you read this novel before? If so let me know in the comments!

ending

One thought on “Review – Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I also had high expectations for Everything, Everything but started to get a bit disappointed around the middle of the novel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

