Book Reviews

Review- Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

22522202

Until Friday Night (The Field Party #1) by Abbi Glines

Page Count: 328

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publication Date: August 25th, 2015

Rating: 3.5-4 out of 5 heart

4

Synopsis:

To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West is Big Man on Campus on the outside, he’s grief-stricken on the inside: for the past year, he has watched his father slowly die of cancer. And he hasn’t told anyone because he can’t face the truth.

Two years ago Maggie Carlton witnessed her father murder her mother. Afterward she told the police what happened, and then never spoke again. Even after moving to Lawton, Alabama, to live with her uncle, Maggie kept her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

Now, as his pain grows unbearable, West finally decides he needs to talk to someone about his dad. So in the dark shadows of the post-game party, he tells the one girl who doesn’t speak all the things he can’t tell anyone else. What West expected was relief, a flood of emotions-but what he didn’t expect was for Maggie to reply. For her to reveal a pain even deeper than his own. For them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t even let her go.

My Thoughts and Review:

I was pretty hesitant about reading this novel because I heard it was going to be apart of a nine book series, but I ended up caving in. Normally I’m not into reading unfinished series because I am not a very patient person and hearing as this was only the first book out of eight other unpublished novels, you can probably see my dilemma. However, not only was the synopsis very intriguing, but I was also able to find the hardcover for only three ninety-nine so I couldn’t pass it up.

Until Friday Night is about two main characters-West and Maggie. Maggie has recently moved in with her aunt, uncle, and cousin at Lawton, Alabama after her mom passed away. She is known to not talk due to various reasons and that really affects her life, especially when she has to start attending Lawton High. Her cousin, Brady, was supposed to help her around school as well as make her feel included, but it’s not very easy when she won’t speak. The there’s West, the super popular football player who can’t help but notice Maggie at a post-game party. He decides to talk to her disregarding the fact that she probably wouldn’t respond. Not only did Maggie speak to him though, but she was also able to understand him in a way  that no one else around him could. They both have their fair share of family issues and that’s what really helps them connect.

I gave this book a generous four when really I think it should be a three point eight or something. There were some really good parts but it also contained quite a number of minor details that sort of annoyed me.

One thing I really enjoyed about this novel was the mentioning of tough family events. Not everyone is brave enough to write a story about hard topics like the ones mentioned in this book, so applauds to Abbi Glines for making it work. I also liked the character and relationship development in Until Friday Night. Not only did the two protagonists grow, but so did one or two supporting characters. For example, Brady came off pretty harsh in the beginning but by the end he softened up to Maggie and I thought their bond was kind of sweet.

Another plus about this book was the inclusion of adults and family members. It wasn’t one of those situations where the guardians only got three or five tiny scenes and then that was it for them. They were mentioned constantly throughout the chapters and I like that they weren’t forgotten about.

There was a good amount of drama in this novel, and although I feel like some of it was a bit overdone, having a few exaggerated scenes it’s still better than not having enough.

Aside from that though, there were a number of things about this book that I did not enjoy. Like the fact that the guys were very keen towards pretty girls and used them on a daily basis *cough* West *cough*. Basically any female who was not Maggie was a promiscuous girl (aka slut). Not only that, but the girls were also very rude. Not every female is like that so I have no idea why the author portrayed them in this way.

While reading this book I was waiting for that one good moment when Maggie would finally stand up to the mean girls and she did… once, before the guys had to take over and rescue her. Speaking of the guys, I did not appreciate the fact that most of them kept wanting to befriend Maggie just because she was pretty. There is more to a girl than just her face and body.

I don’t want to seem like I’m bashing this book because I did like it, but why was West so possessive? I get that he is afraid of losing people, particularly because of his dad, but the guy would not let Maggie have a breath. He got jealous easily and I got tired just reading about it, so I can’t imagine how Maggie felt.

By now, I have stated numerous times that I am a huge sucker for cheesy/cliche stuff but this book took that to a whole new level. It got to the point where it was just sickly cheesy and it had me cringing. Also the ending felt a bit rushed so I wish it slowed down.

All in all though, this novel was still a pretty good read. It was interesting enough that I was able to stay up until three in the morning to finish it. I will probably end up getting the rest of the series or at least for now the second book Under the Lights.

Is Abbi Glines a familiar author or is she a new name for you? Let me know in the comments below!

ending

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

