Monthly Series

Other Obsessions – New Monthly Series!

Greetings fellow bloggers and bibliophiles! Today’s post is the start of a new monthly series called “Other Obsessions.” This is where I will briefly talk about my new interests of the month and what I’ve been up to other than reading books. The idea for this series originally came from an amazing blogger named CΓ‘tia. Definitely go check out her blog if you get the chance to because it’s spectacular! Huge thanks for her allowing me to use this idea!

Without further ado, here are some of my new found loves of August/September!

tv

A Girl & Three Sweethearts (J-Drama)

cnybdagukaazikf

I found out about this show through a close friend of mine who recommended it to me. Generally speaking, it’s about a girl named Misaki Sakurai. She hasn’t been in a relationship in a long time because she has been so focused on her job as a pastissier. One day she gets fired from her job and runs into her first love from high school, Chiaki Shibasaki. Turns out Chiaki owns a restaurant so he offers her a job as well as a place to stay at his home. When she arrives to his place, Misaki realizes that his two younger brothers Toma and Kanata also live there. The four of them slowly weave their way into one another’s daily lives and some romance begins to stir! The series is still ongoing and as of right now, there are only 8 episodes out. I don’t speak Japanese so I normally just read the subtitles.

movie

No Longer Heroine/Heroine Disqualified (Live Action)

heroine-disqualified-2015

This film is based off of a manga, which is basically the Japanese version of comics/graphic novels if you didn’t know. Basically, a girl named Hatori Matsuzaki has a crush on her childhood friend, Rita Terasaka. She believes he will eventually reciprocate her feelings, but then Rita begins dating another girl, Miho Adachi. Meanwhile, the most popular male student in their high school, Kosuke Hiromitsu, takes an interest in Hatori Matsuzaki. It sounds super cliche, but I’m a sucker for this stuff so I loved it. Not only was the acting great, but I also enjoyed the humorous aspects in the movie. I haven’t read the manga for this yet, but I’m hoping to eventually get around to it. Also, did you notice that the two protagonists in this movie are also in the drama I mentioned earlier?

music

If you couldn’t already tell, I’m currently obsessed with the Asian entertainment industry right now so, not surprisingly, some K-Pop has found its way onto my playlist. I’ve mainly been listening to two boy bands- EXO and BTS. Not only do these guys sing, they also dance and look adorable!

Here is my K-Pop playlist so far! It’s pretty small right now because I’m still on the hunt for more songs to add.

Even though those songs are addicting, I’ve still stuck around for some songs that are actually in English and a few of my favorites have been from a band called Hey Violet. I was introduced to them after attending the Sounds Live Feels Live concert from 5 Seconds of Summer. They were the opening act and let me just tell you, they’re fantastic live!

These are the handful of songs I’ve been replaying from Hey Violet.

others

Aside from music, dramas, and movies, I’ve also been spending loads of time on Youtube watching itsJudysLife. This channel posts daily vlogs and it revolves around a family consisting of five members: Benji (Dad), Judy (Mom) and three girls name Julianna, Miya, and Keira.

Their videos are full of laughs, heart touching moments, as well as family love!

untitled

I haven’t posted in nearly a month and these are all the reasons why! School has also kept me pretty busy to say the least, but nobody wants to hear about that. I really enjoyed writing up this post so hopefully you liked it! If you share some of the same interests, or just want to discuss a some of the topics let me know in the comments!Β  I will be back next month with another monthly update, but until then keep an eye out for upcoming book reviews!

ending

3 thoughts on “Other Obsessions – New Monthly Series!

    1. Sorry for the super late reply! I just read your blog post and I didn’t realize Hey Violet had released a music video for “Guys My Age” until now! I totally agree with you when you say that their music video has an 80’s vibe. I love the colors and the concept.

      I am not too familiar with the band yet, but I hope their debut goes well! I will have to check it out once it is released.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

