Book Reviews

Review – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Page Count: 519

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Publication Date: May 3rd, 2016

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 hearts

35

Synopsis:

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

My Thoughts and Review:

This was the second book I’ve read by Morgan Matson and after reading it, I can assure you that I will continue to support her work. Initially I had planned to read this novel a couple months back during summer but that never happened. However, I finally managed to finish the book and overall it was a good read. Shall we go into more detail?

The Unexpected Everything is revolves around a girl named Andie who has grown to be independent ever since her father started prioritizing his work over family. She likes to plan things out as well as have everything stay consistent and unchanging. With her summer schedule figured out, Andie couldn’t wait to leave her home and dive into a pre-med internship she had applied for months ahead. Just when she thought she could escape Stanwich-her home town- and leave her dad behind, her letter of recommendation gets lifted and she doesn’t have a backup plan.

Now that all the good programs and internships have already been filled, Andie is desperate to find something that will look decent on her college application. Without any other choice, she ends up taking an open spot as a dog walker. She wasn’t expecting much to come out of this, but luckily for her, one of the clients happened to be a cute, nerdy guy named Clark. Although Andie doesn’t like the idea of being seriously invested in a relationship, she still wanted to fun, so it wasn’t all that bad when Clark came into the picture.

Let’s just start off my saying that this book is not all about romance. It may seem like it, but other topics like friendship and family also come up in the story quite often.With that being said though, if you don’t like love stories this may or may not be the book for you because the topic plays a pretty big role in the novel.

Whether it was friendships or relationships though, I really enjoyed reading about Andie’s connections with her peers. In the book, her three best friends Bri, Palmer, and Toby were hilarious. I loved them because they all had different personalities and unique quirks. Plus being able to read about their inside jokes and conversations made me feel like I was apart of their tight bond.

Other than the girls, I also liked the male characters, especially Clark and Tom-Palmer’s boyfriend. For one thing, these two had a real bromance brewing. I thought they made such a funny and lovable duo. Aside from that, I also have a soft spot for them because they’re both really sweet and caring. *insert heart eye emoji*

Although I am a total sucker for love stories, I think I preferred reading bout Andie’s reconciliation with her father rather than about Clark and Andie. I will admit that her connection with Clark was absolutely adorable, but I feel like the relationship she began to rebuild with her dad was so much more heartwarming. They had deep conversations and shared moments about their past that were extremely touching.

The only downside to The Unexpected Everything is that it was really dragged out in the beginning but fast paced at the end. I don’t normally read a five hundred page contemporary novel so I felt as if the opening was quite slow. When it came to the last few chapters though, I started worrying about how the author was going to wrap everything up. Some would probably disagree and say that the ending was fine, but I wish there was more closure. The ending was just left me a bit unsatisfied.

Overall, it was still a good read. It definitely isn’t one of my favorites and there’s not much about the book that seems memorable, but I still recommend it for those of you who enjoy contemporary novels!

ending

Leave a Reply

