Book Reviews

Review – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Image result for red queen
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Page Count: 383 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rating: Unfinished
Synopsis:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Thoughts and Review:
I am just going to start off by saying that I technically shouldn’t even be writing this review. Why? It’s because I didn’t finish the book. Now before you jump to conclusions, just know that I didn’t finish it due to many reasons, and not because it was a bad read.
If you don’t know this about me already, I barely ever read anything that does not fall under the genre “YA contemporary.” I am not interested in historical, poetry, or fantasy etc. However, I really wanted to try and expand my taste in books so I decided to give this one a try. Everyone seems to love it so I thought, “what could go wrong?” Well other than the fact that I didn’t actually finish reading the book, I did have some likes and dislikes.
Likes:
Plot – I have never read any book with such a different and unique plot. With the idea of Silvers, Reds, and magical powers, this was definitely something new to me.
Characters – I especially liked the main protagonist-Mare; she was a bold heroine.
Love Affairs (???)- I didn’t get far enough into the book to confirm if this is true or not, but I assume that something will spark up between Mare and Cal? I could be totally wrong, but I was really rooting for them when I was reading this. (I know this book wasn’t meant to be a romance novel but I can’t help that part of me, you know?)
Even though the book had all of those enjoyable elements, I still ended up not finishing it. In the end, I realized that this was the first book in a series, and that is probably what made me return the book back to the library without wanting to renew it. I was never a big fan of book series, especially if they’re ongoing because I am not a very patient person. You can probably guess where I am going with this, right?  I should have done more research before diving into this book, but being the person that I am, I didn’t. Halfway through, I went on Google and that is when I decided I wasn’t going to complete Red Queen. With two more books already published and the fourth one still in progress, I just didn’t love the novel enough to continue reading.
With all of that said, I still respect the author because her writing is great, and you can see that by looking at how many people love for her books. I am just not one of her biggest fans, and that’s okay because there are numerous amounts of readers who really enjoy her writing. To those of you who do love this series, I hope you will continue to support Victoria Aveyard and respect my opinion for what it is.
So that’s the end! Thanks for stopping bye and hope to see you in the next post!
ending
Leave a Reply

