Monthly Series

Other Obsessions #5 – February

It’s been a while since I’ve made a  post for this series but I am back at it again because there were so many exciting things that I loved (other than books) this past month! Since I didn’t update this series in January, I will include a bit of that in this post as well. Before I start though, I just want to mention that this series was inspired by Cátia over at TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. She has a monthly update called Beyond the Books so definitely check it out and show her some love!

Now that I have said what was needed to be said, let’s get into my January/February favorites!

tv

Hwarang 화랑(K-Drama)

hwarang-poster

I mentioned this show way back in my December post, but just as a reminder, Hwarang is a historical fictional drama. To quickly summarize it, the queen regent of the small kingdom named Silla, wants to create an elite group of young males who will protect and hopefully have great influence on the country. Her plan is to empower the throne through these men as the young king lives in hiding. My summary doesn’t really do the drama justice so I suggest you search online for more information.

The series started back in December and wrapped up in late February, resulting with twenty episodes, all of which last around an hour each. The ending could’ve been better-there were some plot holes-but for the most part, I really enjoyed Hwarang and would definitely recommend it. There was quite a bit of action, a touch of romance, as well as great friendships.

movie

Image result for my annoying brother movie poster

My Annoying Brother (Korean Movie)

This movie initially caught my interest because my favorite member from EXO-D.O.-was the lead role. To summarize it, the movie is about a young judo athlete named Doo-Young, who lost his eyesight due to an injury he had during one of his competitions. His older step-brother Doo-sik, who is a prisoner, uses his little brother’s injury as an excuse to be released on parole for a year, saying that he would take good care of him.

Since his parents have passed away and he has lost his vision, Doo-Young began to shut away the world, living alone in his home. Luckily his former judo coach, Soo-Hyun, keeps an eye on him so that he is okay. After years of being seperated, Doo-Sik comes back into the picture and the brothers have to live with each other once again, even if it’s against their will.

LOVED IT. I started the movie around midnight and was a teary, heartbroken mess by two in the morning. It’s such a heartwarming, yet sad story all at once. I highly recommend it to those of you who enjoy family oriented films.

music

BTS – You Never Walk Alone Album

My favorite K-pop group released yet another beautiful album, and it’s called You Never Walk Alone. The tracklist includes all the songs from their previous album, WINGS, but it also has four new songs: “Spring Day,” “Not Today,” “A Supplementary Story: You Never Walk Alone,” and ” Outro: Wings.”

They’ve released two music videos, one for “Spring Day” and the other for “Not Today.”

Image result for you never walk alone bts album

Both of the videos broke records for K-Pop music video views,and the album/singles themselves have broken numerous other records. They even made it on the American Billboard’s chart!

 

 

Day6 – They Day (mini) Album

I recently found this K-pop group, and I immediately fell in love with their concept. Most K-pop boy bands sing and dance, but these boys sing and play instruments. This may not sound very exciting because a band who sings and play instruments is nothing new right? Well for the K-pop industry, it’s pretty rare. Day6 consists of five members and debuted back in 2015.

Image result for the day day6 album

Their album, The Day,

is amazing and I feel like

the band itself deserves a lot

more love than what they’re getting.

 

NCT 127 – Limitless (mini) Album

I know I’ve already talked about two albums but one more won’t hurt. With that said, I’ve also been loving NCT 127’s album, Limitless.

Image result for nct 127 limitless album

The album consists of six

tracks, all of which are really

catchy and amazing.

 

 

 

 

untitled

 

So that is it for the month of February! Let me know what you have liked in the past month in the comments below!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you in the next post,

ending

Leave a Reply

