Book Reviews

Review – I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Image result for i'll give you the sunI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Page Count: 371

Publisher: Dial Books

Publication Date: September 16th, 2014

Rating: DNF

 

 

 

[ Synopsis ]

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for the both of them.

But three years later, sixteen Jude and Noah barely speak. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways… until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else-an even more unpredictable new force in her life.

The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to each other, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

[ Thoughts + Review ]

I had quite high expectations for this novel because so many people in the bookish community hype about it. Plus, the exceeding four star review on Goodreads was also very influential in my decision on whether on not I should read this book. In the end, I did choose to read it, hence why I am writing this review. However, even though I started the book, I never really finished it.

Like I have said many times before, I am a romance book kind of girl. With that said though, I still like to switch things up a bit sometimes and throw in a bit of family/friendship orientated novels, so that led me to I’ll Give You the Sun. I was hoping for an amazing book that would pull on my heartstrings, give me a taste of drama, as well as make me laugh. I got a hint of all those things, but mainly just confusion.

The plot sounded like something I could totally fall in love with. I appreciated that there was diversity and a family that was apparent throughout the chapters. I also liked the idea of the twins having completely opposite personalities-Noah basically breathed art and stayed low-key while Jude was a super outgoing and wild chica. I wanted so badly to like this book but I just couldn’t get more than halfway through. Why? It’s purely because of the writing style. If it weren’t for the way that it was written, I could’ve easily gave this book a high rating. I like to be an open minded person, but I really couldn’t grasp onto poetic style of this novel. I am not good at analyzing things, I just want to be told straight you know? The metaphors upon metaphors just didn’t work well with me.

I think I will decide to finish this book one day. It’s probably not going to be today or tomorrow, but the day will come.

Have you read I’ll Give You the Sun before? If so, let me know what you liked or didn’t like about it in the comments.

Thanks for stopping by,

ending

Leave a Reply

