Book Reviews

Review – Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Image result for heartless marissa meyerHeartless by Marissa Meyer

Page Count: 453

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Publication Date: November 8th, 2016

Rating: 4 out of 5 hearts

4

[ Synopsis ]

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

[ Thoughts and Review ]

After hearing so many people hype about Marissa Meyer’s new novel, I finally decided to give it a try.
To make a long story short, Heartless is basically a retell of the infamous Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland. The book follows Catherine Pinkerton, a girl who’s caught in a wicked love triangle with the King of Hearts and a mysterious, yet charming joker named Jest. Her parents keep insisting that she’s destined to be a queen, but unlike most girls in Wonderland, she’d rather pass on all the riches and open a bakery with her best friend and marry a joker instead. Cath hopes that will be the one to determine her future, but only fate can decide whether it wants to be on her side or not.

I’m rarely ever seen reading a fantasy novel, but I will admit that this book was definitely worth my time. I really liked the romance aspect of Heartless, without it, I probably wouldn’t have considered reading it in the first place. With that said, I enjoyed reading about Jest and Cath’s affair as well as all the drama that came along with them. The two also shared some extremely heartwarming moments which I was a total sucker for.

Even though the book lived up to my expectations, there were a few things that I disliked. One was how predictable some of the scenes were. There were quite a few  moments, or “plot twists,”  in the story that did not come as a surprise to me. I gave the characters the benefit of the doubt when I sensed that they were going to do something irrational, yet they ended up doing it. When this happened, it really disappointed me as well as got me a bit irritated. It’s like screaming at the person in a horror movie to not open the door when you know something bad is behind it, yet they open it anyways. Do you get what I am saying?

However, there were a lot of high points in this books. Besides the drama filled love triangle, the minor characters also gave the story life. They all had something to offer and weren’t just there so that the book would have more than two characters, they were added to the plot for a reason.

The four hundred something pages didn’t seem to drag on for me and I believe Meyer’s descriptive writing was a major reason as to why I wasn’t bored.

Overall, I would recommend this to people who are like me and love contemporary novels but want to try something a little new. Although, whether you like fantasy or contemporary romances, you’ll probably end up liking this book anyways.

ending

3 thoughts on “Review – Heartless by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

