Book Reviews

Review – By Your Side by Kasie West

Image result for by your side kasie westBy Your Side by Kasie West

Page Count: 346

Publisher: Harper Teen

Publication Date: January 31st, 2017

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 hearts

35

[ Synopsis ]

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

[ Thoughts + Review ]

Like I’ve mentioned in my previous review for P.S. I Like You, Kasie West has been one of my favorite authors for the past three years. When I heard that she released a new novel, I knew I just had to get a copy of it. Thanks to BujoBooks who held a giveaway over on Instagram, I was able to receive this novel as a prize!

By Your Side had just what I always look for when I read one of West’s contemporary novels. It was simple and sweet with a little bit of cliche. To summarize it, the protagonist-Autumn Collins-got locked in a library for an entire weekend and although it might sound like heaven for us bibliophiles, Autumn couldn’t think how her situation could get any worse. Then the infamous Dax Miller from school turns out to be locked in too, and well you can probably guess what happened from here.

Although this novel was really cute and fluffy, it went a little deeper than what her other contemporaries usually do. West added some depth to the plot by bringing up anxiety disorder and family issues among other things as well. I appreciated this because it balanced out with the adorable, cliche aspect of the plot.

Speaking of adorable, I thought Dax was a very lovable character. He was closed off at times but when he finally stopped being the “bad boy” and acted like himself, I thought he had a nice personality. As for Autumn, she didn’t exceed my expectations but nor did she fail to meet them. She just seemed pretty generic me, personality wise anyways. She did have her funny quirks and some humor but there just isn’t much to remember her by.

The minor characters were pretty average to me as well. I didn’t love any of them but I also didn’t really dislike any of them either, well maybe except for one of the guys who was being super irrational, but I won’t spoil it for you. I felt like they were just there to give the story a bit more substance and drama but nothing amazing.

All in all, I thought By Your Side was a good read. I like West’s book because they’re cute and I never get disappointed when I read her contemporaries. I would recommend it to people who want a quick and easy, yet fluffy read. I feel like this novel would be great to read during spring because it just sets you in the mood if that makes any sense. Keep in mind this does have a love triangle but don’t let that discourage you from giving it a try!

That’s it for this post, thanks for stopping by!

ending

 

3 thoughts on “Review – By Your Side by Kasie West

  1. Nice review, Kathy! By Your Side was my first Kasie West book. Though I enjoyed it overall I also was slightly disappointed since I was hoping for more. I totally agree with your thoughts on the supporting cast; they’re rather bland (and I was quite annoyed with how long it took for her friends to get she was missing). Dax, indeed, is a cutie.

    Summer

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

