Book Reviews

Review – Under the Lights (The Field Party #2) by Abbi Glines

Image result for under the lightsUnder the Lights (The Field Part #2) by Abbi Gline

Page Count: 328

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: August 23rd 2016

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 hearts

25

[ Synopsis ]

Willa can’t erase the bad decisions of her past that led her down the path she’s on now. But she can fight for forgiveness from her family. And she can protect herself by refusing to let anyone else get close to her.

High school quarterback and town golden boy Brady used to be the best of friends with Willa—she even had a crush on him when they were kids. But that’s all changed now: her life choices have made her a different person from the girl he used to know.

Gunner used to be friends with Willa and Brady, too. He too is larger than life and a high school football star—not to mention that his family basically owns the town of Lawton. He loves his life, and doesn’t care about anyone except himself. But Willa is the exception—and he understands the girl she’s become in a way no one else can.

As secrets come to light and hearts are broken, these former childhood friends must face the truth about growing up and falling in love…even if it means losing each other forever.

[ Thoughts + Review ]

After reading the first novel of this ongoing series, Until Friday Night (which you can read the review for here), I decided to check out the second book from the library and give it a try. To sum it up briefly, I felt like it was unimpressive and very similar to the previous book in this series. I could rant about all the dislikes I have for this novel, but I don’t want to bore you, so let me just make a few comments about the main points of this book that I didn’t like. I am sorry in advanced if I come off in a harsh way.

1) The author made every girl that wasn’t the main character in this book seem like a piece of trash. This was already a problem in the first novel and now it has made a comeback in this one. I am not exaggerating, every single female other than Willa and Maggie (the protagonist from the first book) was just a sex object or distraction for the guys. They had no self respect and constantly wanted to hook up with football players one after another. Not only that, but they were also either portrayed as clingy or bitchy. News flash, not every girl is like that.

2) The guys were no better because they would constantly use girls and disregard their feelings. Once again, this was also a reoccurring issue from the first book. Whenever there was a problem in one of the boys’ lives, they would just find a girl and go at it to “ease their minds.” Here are some quote straight out the book:

“I’d asked Serena to homecoming two weeks ago because I knew she’d be a sure thing. After our win. all I’d care about was getting some.” 

“Once we had won, I was taking Serena to my trunk and spending several hours.”

3) The plot was underdeveloped and felt like a big pity party. The two main characters had issues arising one after another, and at first I felt sympathy because I know not every person has a perfect life, but after a while it became extremely repetitive. It was as if the author needed plot fillers so adding more drama was the solution.

4) Overall plot of this book was basically the same as Until Friday Night. The male lead meets a girl who is “different from the rest” and not only is she nice, but she is also very good eye candy. The two understand each other because they face the same problems and end up develop feelings for one another. That’s the general plot of both books and it’s quite boring the second time around.

Minor dislikes)

  • The title is extremely irrelevant. The only thing it really connects to is the fact that football is a well loved sport in this setting, otherwise it has nothing to do with the plot.
  • Repetitive sayings. I know everyone has their one special line and whatnot but if I had a dollar for every time Willa said something about making her grandma proud, Gunner saying he wasn’t what Willa needed, or Brady saying he was a nice guy and felt bad about hurting his “girlfriend,” I would be fifty dollars richer by now.
  • The ending was abrupt and rushed. There was no real closing to some of the drama.
  • Cliche and very predictable love triangle.

Overall, I managed to get through the second installment of this series and I am sure I will not be reading the rest of the books that will be published. I don’t mean to come off rude or to be bashing the author but this is my honest opinion about the book. Now that I look back, this post is rather a rant than a review but I just had to get all of this off my chest.

Let me know in the comments below your thoughts if you have read this or if you plan on reading it in the future.

Thanks for stopping by,

ending

2 thoughts on “Review – Under the Lights (The Field Party #2) by Abbi Glines

  1. Hi there! I’m your new Instagram’s follower. I see this on your story . So… I was so excited about this books bcs I really enjoyed Until Friday night.
    Thanks for your review!
    See you later ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

